"Active" creature after killed & wounds

View previous topic View next topic Go down

"Active" creature after killed & wounds

Post by Don Riddle on Thu Jan 01, 2015 11:49 pm

As far as I could tell, when a creature receives enough wounds to die, it does so and is replaced *immediately*. Thereafter in the same challenge, where does further damage to the Dark Lord go? To the new creature? What about cards that refer to the active creature? Is there one now?

Don Riddle

Posts : 8
Join date : 2015-01-01

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: "Active" creature after killed & wounds

Post by WTG - Tom Green on Fri Jan 02, 2015 7:14 am

Don,

Once a Creature is killed, there is no active Creature any more. So the Hero has to plan the best use of damaging abilities as overkill doesn't help the Hero. I've also seen a clever Dungeon Lord win the challenge and stick the Hero with 2 wound Reward tokens when the Creature was already dead, leaving the Hero with no reward value at all.

Creatures are replaced at the end of a challenge after Rewards have been claimed. So they are not immediately replaced, to help prevent some of this confusion.

Check out the rule book (pg 20) under "Killing a Creature":

When a Creature is killed, discard all Wound tokens on the
Creature card and turn it over, face down in its Creature
slot. The Hero earns an amount of Experience tokens equal
to the Creature’s level. The Creature’s ability is canceled,
and the Creature is considered not in play for the rest of
the challenge. Any additional Wound tokens dealt to this
Creature are discarded...

...After rewards are claimed at the end of a challenge, any
face-down Creatures in Creature slots are replaced with
new Creatures. The killed, face-down Creature is placed on
the bottom of the Creature deck that matches its level. A
new Creature is drawn from this same Creature deck. The
new Creature enters the game exhausted and without any
Wound tokens on it.

Hope that helps.

WTG - Tom Green
Admin

Posts : 85
Join date : 2014-11-17
Age : 44

View user profile http://fallenthegame.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

Re: "Active" creature after killed & wounds

Post by Don Riddle on Fri Jan 02, 2015 10:33 am

Thanks for replying both here and at BGG!⭐️

Don Riddle

Posts : 8
Join date : 2015-01-01

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: "Active" creature after killed & wounds

Post by DarcyW on Mon Feb 02, 2015 3:43 pm

WTG - Tom Green wrote:Don,
Check out the rule book (pg 20) under "Killing a Creature":

When a Creature is killed, discard all Wound tokens on the
Creature card and turn it over, face down in its Creature
slot. The Hero earns an amount of Experience tokens equal
to the Creature’s level. The Creature’s ability is canceled,
and the Creature is considered not in play for the rest of
the challenge. Any additional Wound tokens dealt to this
Creature are discarded...

...After rewards are claimed at the end of a challenge, any
face-down Creatures in Creature slots are replaced with
new Creatures. The killed, face-down Creature is placed on
the bottom of the Creature deck that matches its level. A
new Creature is drawn from this same Creature deck. The
new Creature enters the game exhausted and without any
Wound tokens on it.

Hope that helps.

Giday Tom,

After reading this we were wondering that if the hero kills off a creature before the end of the challenge roll whether any bonus die provided by activating that creature are also removed from play, and if so, how would you determine which to remove if there are multiple? Thanks!

DarcyW

Posts : 11
Join date : 2015-02-02

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: "Active" creature after killed & wounds

Post by WTG - Tom Green on Mon Feb 02, 2015 3:49 pm

Hi Darcy,

When a Creature is killed, essentially anything that has already happened remains in play (such as abilities like the Goblin that gives you bonus dice when rolling an agility challenge)

...and anything that hasn't happened yet is cancelled. So a Shadow Fiends's Gloom ability would discard a fortune. If the Shadow Fiend is killed before the challenge is resolved, then its Win condition will never occur.

So if it's happened, creature is killed, the effect still happens.

If it's happenING or has yet to happen, creature is killed, the effect is gone.

Does that answer your question?

Tom

WTG - Tom Green
Admin

Posts : 85
Join date : 2014-11-17
Age : 44

View user profile http://fallenthegame.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

Re: "Active" creature after killed & wounds

Post by DarcyW on Mon Feb 02, 2015 5:04 pm

Brilliant, that makes it easier! Thanks.

DarcyW

Posts : 11
Join date : 2015-02-02

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: "Active" creature after killed & wounds

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum