Question about Exhausting creatures and Canceling Creature effects

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Question about Exhausting creatures and Canceling Creature effects

Post by ler0ux on Fri Jan 09, 2015 4:28 pm

So I've had my first game, which I enjoyed immensely...Krogarn got his butt kicked by Merace, but two questions popped up that we couldn't find any answers to:

When a card allows the DL or the Hero to exhaust a creature (e.g. Bow Before Me), what exactly does that do? Does it mean I can add the newly exhausted creature's dice and ability (if the symbol matches), or just that I can exhaust it and nothing else happens? Is it different when the Hero or the DL play a card that allows them to exhaust a creature?

Secondly, what if a creature is activated, its dice and ability used, and then the Hero plays a card that cancels the creature's ability? Are any effects reversed, e.g. when the creature dealt a wound, is the wound token taken off the armour again?

Hope these questions are clear enough..any suggestions?

ler0ux

Posts : 2
Join date : 2015-01-09

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Question about Exhausting creatures and Canceling Creature effects

Post by WTG - Tom Green on Fri Jan 09, 2015 5:33 pm

Hi there.

1) Exhausting versus Activating

Exhausting a Creature simply means you rotate it 90 degrees. This usually means the Creature is not available for a few challenges until it is refreshed.

Activating a Creature is done only by the Dungeon Lord once at the start of each challenge. It requires the Dungeon Lord to exhaust the Creature and then gain any of its dice and abilities.

So anyone can exhaust a Creature taking it away from the available selection for a while, but only the Dungeon Lord can activate a Creature. (Note: some advanced plays can make exhausting a wounded or low-level Creature an advantage to the DL )

2) Creature Abilities

When a Creature is activated it gains its dice and immediately uses its ability (unless otherwise written). No matter what happens to a Creature after is it activated, you cannot take back its dice or reverse effects that have already happened.

You might play an effect as the Hero to cancel a Creature's ability that is an always on ability or that specifically says the ability happens during the Hero's roll or a Lose/Win condition. Cancelling the ability blanks his text box, so the future condition will never happen.

You might also play an effect that cancels the Creature's ability when it is activated. In this case, it's ability is cancelled and never occurs, but it would still get its dice as always.

Let me know if this doesn't make any sense.

WTG - Tom Green
Admin

Posts : 85
Join date : 2014-11-17
Age : 44

View user profile http://fallenthegame.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

Re: Question about Exhausting creatures and Canceling Creature effects

Post by ler0ux on Sat Jan 10, 2015 5:50 am

Thanks so much Tom, that makes things perfectly clear!

I thought as much about the exhausting bit...e.g. it would allow the DL to exhaust a L1 creature, meaning that all the creatures are now exhausted and he/she can start the next challenge with a full set of refreshed creatures - especially useful when the other creatures are all L2 and L3!

And thanks for calrifying the cancel ability issue...we eventually decided to take back the wound cased, but now we know better Smile

ler0ux

Posts : 2
Join date : 2015-01-09

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Question about Exhausting creatures and Canceling Creature effects

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum